Skip to content ↓


Following reconstitution on 20 March 2015, The Weald School's governing body comprises 20 governors, made up from the following categories of governor:

LA (Local Authority) governors (1 maximum) appointed by West Sussex County Council
Parent Governors (6 maximum) elected by parents of students at the school
Co-opted Governors (11 maximum) appointed by the governing body
Staff Governors (1 maximum) elected by the staff at the school
Headteacher (1)

Further detailed Governor information is available on the separate document at the foot of this web page

Governor Type: Name: Term of Office Ends:


Vice Chair

Mrs Nicola Waters (Chair)

Mrs Rachel Terry

21 March 2027

16 March 2026

Headteacher Mrs Sarah Edwards  
Parent Governors:

Mr David Jarvis
Mr Keef Sloan

Dr Stephanie Tempest

Mr Jon Williamson

Mr Alex Nicholson

16 March 2026

29 February 2024

30 April 2027

10 November 2028

10 November 2028

Staff Governors: Ms Jemma Rigby 21 November 2025
Co-opted Governors:

Mrs Nicola Waters (Chair)

Mrs Rachel Terry (Vice-Chair)

Mr Tim Puddefoot

Mrs Alice Lerche
Ms Jo Hindhaugh
Mrs Lydia Graham

Mr Tim Jordan

Miss Sophia Goodway

Mr Steve Earl

21 March 2027

16 March 2026

16 March 2026

21 March 2027
21 March 2027

21 March 2027

21 March 2027

21 March 2027

21 March 2027

LA Governor: Mr Chris Hawley 09 July 2027

Associate Member:


Clerk Mr Malcolm Robinson:  

Governors with specific roles/interests:

Link Governor (training) Clerk
SEND Chris Hawley / Rachel Terry
Pupil Premium Keef Sloan / David Jarvis
Careers Dr Stephanie Tempest / Sophia Goodway
Safeguarding Steve Earl / Jemma Rigby
Health and Safety Tim Jordan
Equalities Tim Puddefoot / David Jarvis

Governors are lead Governors for different subject areas in the school in order to forge better links and increase understanding of their roles and responsibilities.

Committee Structure and Meetings

The full governing body meets four times a year, with additional meetings convened as necessary. Governing body business is also dealt with by their three committees, as follows:

Resources Committee

This committee considers at all matters relating to premises, buildings and finance, and school policies relating to these.

Teaching and Learning Committee

This committee looks at all matters relating to the school curriculum, teaching and learning, and aspects of personnel, and school policies relating to these. 

Pastoral Committee

This committee considers student support and welfare and school policies relating to these.

Committees report back to the termly full governing body meetings. 

Additional information for school governors may be obtained from the Governors’ pages on the West Sussex County Council website