Skip to content ↓
The Weald Community School

The WealdCommunity School and Sixth Form

School (Y7 - 11): 01403 787200

Sixth Form: 01403 787283


Following reconstitution on 20 March 2015, The Weald School's governing body comprises 20 governors, made up from the following categories of governor:

LA (Local Authority) governors (1 maximum) appointed by West Sussex County Council
Parent Governors (6 maximum) elected by parents of students at the school
Co-opted Governors (11 maximum) appointed by the governing body
Staff Governors (1 maximum) elected by the staff at the school
Headteacher (1)

Further detailed Governor information is available on the separate document at the foot of this web page

Governor Type: Name: Term of Office Ends:
LA Representative: Russell Harvey (Chairman) 22 March 2022
Headteacher Mrs Sarah Edwards  
Parent Governors:

Mr David Jarvis
Mr Martin Lundy-Lester

Ms Alexandra Stone

Mr Steve Earl

Mr Keef Sloan

Mr Ian Willitt

16 March 2026
16 March 2026

16 March 2026

30 June 2023

29 February 2024

29 February 2024

Staff Governors: Miss Jemma Rigby 21 November 2025
Co-opted Governors:

Mr Chris Hawley

Mr Tim Puddefoot

Mrs Rachel Terry

Mrs Nicola Waters (Vice Chair)

Mr Patrick Perks BEM
Mr John Griffin
Mrs Alice Lerche
Ms Jo Hindhaugh
Mrs Lydia Graham

Mr Shaun Gallard

16 March 2026

16 March 2026

16 March 2026

19 March 2023

19 March 2023
19 March 2023
19 March 2023
19 March 2023

19 March 2023

19 January 2026

Associate Member:


Clerk Ms Belinda Knowles: [email protected]  

Governors with specific roles/interests:

Link Governor (training) Clerk
Special Needs Rachel Terry
Pupil Premium Keef Sloan
Careers John Griffin
Safeguarding Steve Earl
Health and Safety Ian Willitt 
Equality Tim Puddefoot 

Governors are lead Governors for different subject areas in the school in order to forge better links and increase understanding of their roles and responsibilities.

Committee Structure and Meetings

The full governing body meets four times a year, with additional meetings convened as necessary. Governing body business is also dealt with by their three committees, as follows:

Resources Committee

This committee considers at all matters relating to premises, buildings and finance, and school policies relating to these.

Teaching and Learning Committee

This committee looks at all matters relating to the school curriculum, teaching and learning, and aspects of personnel, and school policies relating to these. 

Pastoral Committee

This committee considers student support and welfare and school policies relating to these.

Committees report back to the termly full governing body meetings. 

Additional information for school governors may be obtained from the Governors’ pages on the West Sussex County Council website